Questions? Call (800) 525-8873

Silky KATANABOY 500mm XL Teeth

Silky KATANABOY 500mm XL Teeth
Item #: 403-50
$199.99
Price
Value
Quality
9 Review(s)

Availability: In Stock

OR

100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Price Match Guarantee

Customer Reviews

9 Item(s)

quiet. no fossil fuel. just you & the wood! Review by woodyWoodPecker
Price
Quality
Value
1/2 deaf. HATE chainsaws, too dangerous. this puppy gets the job done WITHOUT frightening all the wildlife out of the county. (Posted on 7/3/2018)
Effective and sharp. Review by Mountainmike
Price
Quality
Value
Very effective tool. I use it to limb trees up in the canopy. Very sharp and provides excellent leverage. (Posted on 6/20/2018)
Super Review by Matt
Price
Quality
Value
A Great folding saw for sure. (Posted on 10/15/2016)
A must have for rural livingl Review by Enzo
Price
Quality
Value
You could heat your home with this saw if you had to. I keep it on my ATV for trail clearing.Worth every dollar. (Posted on 12/28/2013)
Gray-hairded lady likes it, too! Review by Snowtrekker7
Price
Quality
Value
Over the past 4 years, I have steadily moved up to larger and more aggressive Silky saws in order to help with keeping our local woodland trails open for safe travel. I'm a 67-year-old woman and don't own a chain saw. Even if I did, it would be too heavy and, therefore, too dangerous for me to use. At first, I passed over Katanaboy. I wasn't sure it would be sturdy in the folding-saw configuration. I was afraid inadvertent sideward stress on the tool while sawing through a large log might break the connection between blade and handle. So, instead, I bought the Ibuki and the now-discontinued (but EXCELLENT!) Kamisorime saws. I was able to cut through 12- to 13-inch diameter logs fairly quickly with those saws by alternately using my small ax in a "saw a little, chop a little" procedure, which would take about 30 to 45 minutes to do the first crosscut.But then a "monster" log fell on a particularly favorite trail. I ordered the Katanaboy. It's too big to fit in my backpack but I found a way to fasten its carrying sleeve to the side of the pack so the saw is always at the ready. It's heavier than the other 2 Silky saws but, once the pack is on my back, I don't notice the weight. Ibuki and Kamisorime are always inside the pack, along with a Vaughan Bear Saw (the "sacrificial" saw when I have no choice but to cut through to the soil surface), my short-handled ax, a long-shafted screwdriver that I use as a digging tool to make a space under a log so I can undercut it, 3 felling wedges, a short-handled mattock, a short-handled rake and, in winter, a collapsible aluminum snow shovel plus the usual "10 essentials" - emergency food, water (Posted on 12/26/2013)
zweihander Review by Larry
Price
Quality
Value
I carried a zubat for trail maintenance then upgraded to a sugoi. For Christmas I got the katanaboy, and it is incredible. I cut through a 13" log with it. If you keep a steady rythm cutting, it is powerful and fun to use. (Posted on 3/21/2012)
I love this saw... Review by Preston
Price
Quality
Value
I can't get enough of this amazing saw. Helped clear trees and brush for a new community trail. (Posted on 1/2/2012)
Better than expected Review by Howard Mathews
Price
Quality
Value
I do trail maintenance work on conservation land locally and as a long time member of the Chocorua Mountain Club in NH.In NH. We sometimes work in wilderness areas where no chainsaws are allowed.The Katanaboy can be handed to inexperienced volunteers who are willing but not experienced in using an ax or a 2 man saw.For me, one main advantage is that it cuts on the pull stroke and it has a narrow blade, which means that you can undercut a blowdown with the Katanaboy, when you can't get a bow saw or a cross cut under the log. We have cut some pretty big stuff with this saw. We do carry nylon wedges ans a single bit ax. This is a fantastic trail clearing tool.. (Posted on 3/7/2011)
Amazing, powerful saw Review by CT
Price
Quality
Value
This saw is incredible and easily competes with a small chainsaw, while being much safer to use and without a noisy engine. The blade is super sharp and really does much of the work with little effort. (Posted on 10/19/2010)

9 Item(s)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Silky KATANABOY 500mm XL Teeth

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Price
Value
Quality