Questions? Call (800) 525-8873

Portable Winch Skidding Cone for Logs up to a Diameter of 20in

Portable Winch Skidding Cone for Logs up to a Diameter of 20in
Item #: 32349
$139.99
Price
Value
Quality
9 Review(s)

Availability: In Stock

OR

100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Price Match Guarantee

Customer Reviews

9 Item(s)

Good product all around Review by Kamofo
Price
Quality
Value
Tough, well designed (Posted on 4/10/2018)
That's it Review by Nickname
Price
Quality
Value
Be nice if I could get one for 30" logs. (Posted on 1/1/2018)
Very satisfied with the purchase. Review by Sherm
Price
Quality
Value
After doing a tree service job of removing 50 trees of various sizes in five days of 2009 I bought my log cone from another source. It is a great help for moving clusters of tree limbs and tree trunks. (Posted on 8/5/2017)
Easiest way to haul lumber around Review by Cassidy
Price
Quality
Value
Good tough but flexible product. I dragged about 6 huge logs up a rocky dirt road using my pickup with it this past weekend and it made a huge difference relative to trying to do it without a cone. I wish the hole in the tip was larger though because the hooks on my chain didn't fit through. (Posted on 11/15/2016)
Tough useful product Review by JimL
Price
Quality
Value
Dragging logs is by definition difficult. The ends dig in, especially on uneven terrain and uphill.

The skidding cone is shaped to keep the log moving over and around obstacles. It is made of very tough plastic. The front opening is roughly 2.5+ inches by 1.5+ inches.

It is portable, light, and easily carried. (Posted on 9/5/2016)
Great product 2 Review by JimL
Price
Quality
Value
The Portable Winch choke chain is Grade 70 6mm. PW does not list the WLL. Another site lists Grade 70 1/4" chain WLL at 3,150 lbs.

The Grab link (a fastening chain hook with 3 links of 5/16") is rated at 4,496 lbs WLL. It will fit thru the cone's 1.5+" x 2.5+" opening with some maneuvering.

The 3/8" carabiner is 5,620 MBS (not WLL). It will fit in the 6 mm links.

The mid grade 1/2" carabiner is rated at 11,246 lbs MBS. It will likely fit in 5/16" chain link.

The top grade 1/2" carabiner is rated at 15,737 lbs MBS. It will likely fit in a 5/15" chain link. (Posted on 8/25/2016)
Useful Review by JimL
Price
Quality
Value
The chain opening in the front is roughly 2.5+" x 1.5+"

Portable Winch offers a log choke chain (1/4" x 7') and adaptor (Grab Hook with Latch) which securely hooks to the choke chain with a 5/16" 3 link tail. If you're running line with shackles or a regular hook, you need a better interface solution that will fit thru the skidder hole. The Portable Winch carabiners (they make 3) may or may not fit the Grabber's 5/16" chain.

I found a Pewag WINNER Grade 100 Clevis Master Link fitting in either 9/32" or 5/16" which will fit and let you run a shackle or regular hook to it. I ordered a 5/16" chain with the fitting on both ends. Spoiler alert: not cheap.

In my case, pulling logs across uneven dirt and up a bank with a winch isn't fun and the skidder helps a lot. (Posted on 8/25/2016)
Best (and only) skidding cone on the market! Review by Ben Smith
Price
Quality
Value
In addition to being an arborist, I'm always logging cedar trees out on our family property for building projects. I got tired of rutting up our land by dragging logs so bought this skidding cone. I have not had a chance to use it yet, but turning a log into a bullet is a no brainier, awesome thing to do. The plastic is crazy thick on this thing so it ought to last as long as me. (Posted on 3/7/2014)
Perfect for me Review by Green Mountain Boy
Price
Quality
Value
I'm a weekend logger on my 40 acres. Skid logs with my ATV or tractor. Either way, there's a tendency for the log to dig in and "plow" the ground as well as get stuck.This cone pretty much eliminates that and makes it easier on the equipment and the environment. Only remaining question is how well will it hold up in the long run?Looks pretty sturdy. Time will tell. (Posted on 12/23/2013)

9 Item(s)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Portable Winch Skidding Cone for Logs up to a Diameter of 20in

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Price
Value
Quality